Our Board

Role of Drug & Alcohol Task Force Members

The Drug & Alcohol Task Forces are given a key role by the Government in responding to the substance misuse problem. Their composition reflects the need to ensure locally-based responses that complement existing or planned drug and alcohol programmes and services. In this context, the part played by individual Drug & Alcohol Task Force members in representing their particular agencies or sectors is pivotal to the success of the initiative and demands active participation in all the Drug & Alcohol Task Force’s work, including decision-making. The establishment of the DATFs gives the statutory, community and voluntary sectors, as well as public representatives, a unique opportunity to work together in preparing and implementing an integrated strategy to address the issues relating to drug and alcohol use & misuse. This requires the development of shared values, which promote co-operation and collaboration. For this to happen, however, it is important that all involved are clear as to their roles and responsibilities.

Membership of Southern Regional Drug & Alcohol Task Force.

Mr. Peadar King– SRDATF Chairman
Vacant – Community Sector – Kerry
Vacant – Community Sector – Kerry
Mr. John Fuller, Community Sector
Vacant – Community Sector – Cork
Mr. Gavin Falk – Community Sector
Ms. Nora O’Donovan, Community Sector
Vacant – Area Based Partnerships Management
Vacant – City / County Development Boards
Vacant – Department of Education
Ms. Helena O’Sullivan – Department of Social Protection
D/Insp. Joe Young – An Garda Síochána
Ms. Olivia O’ Shea – Probation Services.
Mr. Colm Maguire – Revenue (Customs & Excise Division)
Mr. Cathal Geraghty – Cork E.T.B
Ms. Edel Cunningham – Cork E.T.B
Vacant – Prison Services
Mr. David Lane – Health Service Executive.
Mr. Joe Kirby – Cork Local Drug & Alcohol Task Force.
Cllr. Niall Kelleher – Public Representative.
Cllr. Breandan Fitzgerald – Public Representative.
Vacant, Public Representative.
Cllr. Gobnait Moynihan – Public Representatives.
Ms. Dolores Tiernan – Talbot Grove Treatment Centre, Voluntary Sector.
Mr. Mick Devine – Tabor Lodge Treatment Centre, Voluntary Sector.
Mr. Seamus O’ Hara, NEWKD, Voluntary Sector.
Ms. Catherine McKenna, Cuan Mhuire, Voluntary Sector.